Skip to content

Kaz

I remember meeting Karen recently at a Trade Fair and falling in love with her delicate pieces.

The best bit about these fairs is getting to meet the creatives behind the work, and Karen was so refreshingly humble about her creations. She shyly talked me through her work explaining how out of her comfort zone she felt promoting her wares to the hordes of press and prospective buyers flocking by. Needless to say, her inhibitions were unfounded, her work has a beautiful and captivating delicacy that ranges from fun and bold items to subtle and detailed. What this space because I believe this designer is definitely going places, and will soon be a force to be reckoned with!

Please welcome our latest Meet Your Maker, Kaz.

Karen_Morton01

Artist Name: Karen Morton

Artist Location: Mt Eliza on the Mornington Peninsula VIC…it’s a great creative hub and coincidentally a fertile wine growing area too!

Type of Work – Medium: Resin jewellery and objects, Porcelain vessels, Wooden accessories

How would you describe your style of work? Simple organic and textural

Karen_Morton02

Are you formally educated or self-taught?

Formally educated. I have a first class honours degree in fine art, painting was my major. I’m always fascinated in learning new techniques and skills so I attend as many classes as time allows, but for most part there is a lot of trial and error! Experience is one of the best teachers!

I’m very fortunate, I have a beautiful studio which I share with another artist and friend Emma Cleine of Lumiere Art and Co. It’s an amazing space where I can create on such a big scale, the light there is beautiful too. I giggle looking back on the many years of creating on my kitchen table… it was always so full of sketchbooks, tools and clay, there was never any space for eating!

Karen_Morton03

Who or what inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?

I’m inspired by the simplicity of everyday objects, the sun coming into my studio in the morning, the snail line across the garden path, the texture of a weathered rock, inspiration is everywhere! As adults we tend to lose that bewilderment, we think we know everything! This is one thing I love about teaching and having my own children, they are a constant reminder to really take the time to look at what is around us and not to take anything for granted.

Karen_Morton04

Where can readers see / buy your work?

I am based in Melbourne but have stockist throughout Australia

Husk Albert Park, VIC

Crate Expectations Malvern, VIC

Studio Melt Newcastle, NSW

Fig Kenmore QLD

Something Different QLD

Etienne Unley SA

The Tenth State Concept Store Nedlands SA

Portrait Gallery Store Manuka ACT

Funky Homes Hobart TAS

For wholesale enquiries and latest stockist details please check my website www.greenhouseinteriors.com.au or contact me directly via kazmorton(at)gmail.com

Karen_Morton05

Do you have any words of advice for aspiring artists / creators?

Invest in good photography (My photographer Armelle Habib is amazing!!)

Surround yourself with like-minded people, put yourself out there… nothing ventured, nothing gained!

Karen_Morton07

One Comment Post a comment
  1. yvette mundell #

    Love Love Love. I shall look into getting some of this.

    May 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

