Skip to content

Vertical Gardens

One of the most exciting new developments in gardening has to be the vertical garden. It allows us to free up floorspace, obstruct views of our man-made environment and create the feeling of being immersed in nature again. It softens the hard edges of our architecture, absorbs noise and filters the air, all whist creating an green oasis within any environment.

Initially I think vertical gardens were a little messy in their design, but as people play around with the concept more we are seeing some beautiful creations coming to life (literally!!) I especially love the idea of shaping your garden into a decorative form either by use of framework, or through application, as with moss graffiti. There is so much potential and so many different avenues that you can explore when creating your very own piece of living art. This really has to be the most inventive way to green your home, wouldn’t you agree?

I have always loved the idea of an edible garden, so this vertical herb garden below is now on my projects list for my home, fingers crossed I can keep it looking as healthy and happy as this one!

Vertical_Garden01

Vertical_Garden02

Vertical_Garden03

Vertical_Garden04

Vertical_Garden05

Vertical_Garden06

Vertical_Garden07

Vertical_Garden08

Vertical_Garden09

All images via

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. I love this blog! The idea of vertical gardening is something that I’ve considered doing for a while, but haven’t gotten around to quite yet. I like the idea of vertical vegetable gardens because they can allow even people with small yards grow significant crops, saving them money and helping the environment by eating local foods.
    ~The Homesteading Hippy

    March 15, 2013
    • I agree, vertical gardens are such a great idea, I cannot wait to start my herb one! There are also many fruit trees varieties that can be trained along a trellis, it looks fab and is yet another take on the vertical garden 🙂

      March 15, 2013
      • I don’t remember where I read it, but I once saw a picture of a green wall built out of used tires. The gaps were filled with veggies! I also agree about the fruit trees. Sigh… Someday…
        ~The Homesteading Hippy

        March 15, 2013
  2. yvette mundell #

    WOW, WOW, WOW. I too am thinking veggie/herb vertical garden. They are like a living moving art. Exciting.

    March 15, 2013

Leave a Reply

