Skip to content

Hayden Youlley

I adore the contraction posed by each piece of Hayden’s work.

Porcelain to me has always been such a perfect material, flawless and pristine, but Haydens work pushes the boundaries of what we expect from this material. His pieces are perfect because of their imperfections. They challenge what you see with what you know, and create a stunningly beautiful object in the process.

Please enjoy the work of artist Hayden Youlley.

Image © Yasmin Gimellaro / Hermit Homewares

Artist Name: Hayden Youlley

Artist Location: Marrickville, NSW Australia

Type of Work – Medium: Handmade porcelain tableware and lighting

How would you describe your style of work?

My work is clean, refined, delicate and minimal. I believe that design has the power to make everyday reality enjoyable, easier and beautiful. I aim to facilitate pure enjoyment in use. I believe that form follows function and I consider form to be a subsequent but equally important consideration.

Are you formally educated or self-taught?

I completed a Bachelor of Design from the College of Fine Arts UNSW. My education focused mainly on conceptual development. I also learned practical skills throughout my degree. Over the years, I have been able to develop them and my aesthetic to a point where I can now fully realise my ideas – from first sketches to final prototype and into small – scale handmade production.

Who or what inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?

I look for inspiration in everyday textures and forms that often go unnoticed. The Paper Series makes use of a simple creased paper form. This form is cast in porcelain, making what was once fragile and temporary, robust and permanent.

The Paper Series is about using porcelain to create a tactile experience. The simple random distribution of creases in the paper surface of the objects creates complex patters of light, shade and texture that disturb the smooth surrounds and invite study and touch.

Image © Yasmin Gimellaro / Hermit Homewares

Where can readers see / buy your work?

You can contact me directly and view my current stockists on my website

www.haydenyoulley.com

Do you have any words of advice for aspiring artists / creators?

If you have a great idea and want to start a business don’t think about it just do it! Be creative, have fun and enjoy the hard work and its rewards.

Hayden latest work is a collaboration that sees his return to object design with the Tree Lamp.

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. yvette mundell #

    So organic. Very beautiful. I really love the lights and lamp.

    August 31, 2012
  2. Wow that tree lamp is stunning.

    September 11, 2012
  3. Love the idea of using creased paper to create texture in porcelain – beautiful! =D

    September 16, 2012
    • It makes his pieces apear so fragile doesn’t it? I really love the delicate nature to his work, very unique and beautiful 🙂

      September 16, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Oh my, Origami | Hermit Homewares

Leave a Reply

