Skip to content

Four Eyes Furniture

Personally I think Sevin harbors a secret love of Australia, he is obsessed with Crocodile Dundee and just quietly his stealthy table looks a little like a boomerang to me.

He is the brains and the brawn behind US company Four Eyes Furniture. I initially fell in love with his wooden portraits but later discovered that his range of furniture had a certain under stated cool that I could get used to.

Sevin is currently working on extending the range to include bookshelves and chairs so be sure to view his website for the full range and follow on facebook to keep up with all the latest.

Artist Name: C. Sevin Salomone – Four Eyes Furniture

Artist Location: Whittier, California USA

Type of work – Medium: Furniture design and manufacturing, only in wood for now…but I hope to expand upon that in the near future.

How would you describe your style of work?
In conversation, whenever I am asked this question…and I need to keep my answer brief, I usually just say “Mid-century Modern-ish” furniture. I don’t think it’s 100% accurate, but it gets the job done. In reality…I think that some of my designs are things that would probably look out-of-place if they were to hop in a DeLorean and time travel back to the 50s or 60s: but they certainly employ some of the same qualities as pieces from that era.

I once heard somebody describe my style as “Masculine”. I thought that was kind of cool. I’m certainly not a feminine guy…but “masculine” probably wouldn’t be in the top 50 adjectives I’d use to describe myself!

Are you formally educated or self-taught?
Between the two choices, I guess I would have to lean more towards “self-taught”. The reason I’m hesitant to say that is because I have certainly gained knowledge and have been guided by lots of different people.

The closest to formal education that I’ve had were a pair of community college courses in “beginning woodworking”. They didn’t teach anything about the design aspect…more just proper use/safety with the various tools you’d find around a shop. Other than that, most of my education has come from asking questions on internet forums and trial and error.

Who or what inspires you? Where do your ideas come from?
At the risk of sounding cliche…I would say my inspiration can come from anywhere. I realize that is a very vague answer and I don’t want to be “very vague”: so rather, I’ll just share the story of the inspiration for the first thing I ever designed and built on my own.

Initially the source of inspiration, I suppose, would be necessity. We needed a coffee table…so I’d build a coffee table. The next source of inspiration would be other coffee tables. I looked at them in books, online, in person…and tried to determine what things were important to me. What I found out was that aesthetics were the most important thing to me…I didn’t really care about utility, having lots of drawers and storage cubbies etc…I just wanted it to look cool. Once I figured out what things I liked (aesthetically), I began drawing. I usually start off drawing exaggerated versions of what my finalized design will be. Throughout this process I realized that most of my drawings were somewhat reminiscent of spiders…so then spiders, in a way, became my inspiration. From that point, all of my drawings would incorporate this sort of wide, menacing stance…if that makes any sense.

I guess the point is, inspiration can hit from anywhere…and evolve to anything. Certainly there isn’t a direct line from “necessity” to “spiders”, but that is just how that piece played out. For my next project I hope to use “desperation” and “koala bears” 🙂

Where can readers see / buy your work:

www.foureyesfurniture.com

http://www.facebook.com/foureyesfurniture

Do you have any words of advice for aspiring artists / creators?
The people who you aspire to be like aren’t any better than you or any smarter than you…so go and get to work.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. yvette mundell #

    What an interesting person. Wonderful furniture but I am still a huge fan of the wooden portraits. They are just the best thing ever.

    May 31, 2012
  2. Great post. Love his casual descriptions of what he does. Super cool.

    May 31, 2012
    • Thanks! Sevin is a very witty, cool and laid back kinda guy, i think this is reflected in his design style too. Check out his facebook page for some hilarious posts!

      June 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

